Skip to content

Review Fuji X-Pro1

October 14, 2013
My Camera Equipment: Fuji X-Pro1 and Canon 5 D Mark II

My Camera Equipment: Fuji X-Pro1 and Canon 5 D Mark II

September/October 2013: I proved the Fuji X-Pro1 in one of my photo reporter travels to South Sudan and Uganda. I carried two cameras with me. The Fuji X-Pro1 with the lens 35mm f/1.4 and the Canon 5 D Mark II with the lenses 24-70mm f/2.8, 16-35mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8 (With the Canon I only used 24-70mm f/2.8 and a couple of times the 70-200mm f/2.8). Since I wanted to try the new camera more of my pictures have been taken with the Fuji X-Pro1. I used the Canon with flash for some of the pictures when it has been necessary. I did not have a flash for the Fuji.

I was very much impressed by the electronic viewfinder. The Q-Button gave me access to 16 key camera features very fast. Its weight, the quality of the pictures (normally I am working with RAW), and the lens of 35mm f/1.4 has been excellent, but not so fast to focus like Canon 5 D Mark II. The battery of the Fuji is very fast empty, after about 300 pictures. Definitely, you need a second battery. I preferred a grip which I had. With it the camera is more stable in your hands.

In my opinion: The Fuji X-Pro1 is a great camera with top quality. It can be compared with some of the best SLRS-cameras.

Taking pictures with the Fuji X-Pro1 in South Sudan's capital Juba.

Taking pictures with the Fuji X-Pro1 in South Sudan’s capital Juba.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

